The Marshall County Commission met in regular session on Monday, October 22, 2012 at 10:00 am. in the Marshall County Commission Chambers.

PRESENT WERE:

James Hutcheson, Chairman
William H. Stricklend, III, Dist. 1 Commissioner
James Maze, Dist. 2 Commissioner
Richard Kilgore, Dist. 3 Commissioner
Tamey Hale, Dist. 4 Commissioner
Shelly Fleisher, County Administrator
Jennifer Lewis, Commission Clerk
Bob Pirando, County Engineer
Karen Young, Administrative Assistant

Chairman Hutcheson called the meeting to order and asked Pastor Donald Cotten, The Fellowship Church to deliver the invocation, he then asked Commissioner Maze to lead the Pledge of Allegiance.

CONSENT AGENDA

A motion was made by Commissioner Stricklend, duly seconded by Commissioner Kilgore, all members voting affirmatively, and so carried to approve the consent agenda as read by Chairman Hutcheson.

ANNOUNCE NEXT COMMISSION MEETING TO BE HELD NOVEMBER 14, 2012 AT 10:00 A.M.

Chairman Hutcheson announced the next commission meeting will be held November 14, 2012 at 10:00 a.m. There will be no work session held prior to this meeting.

COA – ACCEPT OF NUTRITION GRANT FROM TARCOG FOR FY13; \$118,812 – NO MATCH A motion was made by Commissioner Hale, duly seconded by Commissioner Kilgore, all members voting affirmatively, and so carried to accept the Nutrition Grant from TARCOG in the amount of \$118,812, with no match.

<u>DISTRICT ATTORNEY - APPROVE APPLICATION FOR DOMESTIC VIOLENCE GRANT;</u> \$55,000 - NO MATCH

A motion was made by Commissioner Stricklend, duly seconded by Commissioner Maze, all members voting affirmatively, and so carried to approve application for the Domestic Violence Grant in the amount of \$55,000, with no match.

DISTRICT 1 - APPROVE SPEED LIMIT FOR UNION CHAPEL RD; 35 MPH

A motion was made by Commissioner Stricklend, duly seconded by Commissioner Hale, all members voting affirmatively, and so carried to follow the recommendation of County Engineer Pirando and approve the speed limit of 35 mph for Union Chapel Road.

EMA - DISCUSS WINTER WEATHER PREPAREDNESS

Anita McBurnett, Director of EMA, stated we are getting ready for county-wide workshop for winter weather preparedness on November 13-14, 2012.

<u>EMA – APPROVE REQUEST FOR FUNDING A REPEATER (WITH DUPLEXERS) FOR THE COMMISSION, EMA AND SHERIFF OFFICE; \$6,987.50 FROM CONTINGENCY FUND</u>

A motion was made by Commissioner Stricklend, duly seconded by Commissioner Maze, all members voting affirmatively, and so carried to approve request for funding of a back-up repeater (with duplexers) for the Commission, EMA and Sheriff's Office. The cost is \$6,987.50 and will come from the contingency fund. It was also agreed the current repeater will be repaired and used as a back-up repeater.

October 22, 2012

EMA - AWARD BID FOR EIGHT (8) COMMUNITY SHELTERS

A motion was made by Commissioner Stricklend, duly seconded by Commissioner Maze, all members voting affirmatively, and so carried to award the bid for eight (8) community shelters.

ADOPT FUND BALANCE REPORTING POLICY FOR FINANCIAL STATEMENT

A motion was made by Commissioner Stricklend, duly seconded by Commissioner Hale, all members voting affirmatively, and so carried to approve the Fund Balancing Reporting Policy for the financial statement.

AMEND AGENDA TO ADD - EMA - ACCEPT ALABAMA HOMELAND SECURITY GRANT; \$11,968

A motion was made by Commissioner Stricklend, duly seconded by Commissioner Kilgore, all members voting affirmatively, and so carried to amend agenda to accept Alabama Homeland Security Grant for EMA.

EMA - ACCEPT ALABAMA HOMELAND SECURITY GRANT; \$11,968

A motion was made by Commissioner Kilgore, duly seconded by Commissioner Hale, all members voting affirmatively, and so carried to accept the Alabama Homeland Security Grant; \$11,968 with no match.

ADJOURNMENT

MEETING ADJOURNED

There being no further business; a motion was made by Commissioner Stricklend, duly seconded by Commissioner Kilgore and so carried to adjourn.

James Hutcheson, Chairman William H. Stricklend, District 1 Commissioner James Maze, District 2 Commissioner Richard Kilgore, District 3 Commissioner

Tamey Hale, District 4 Commissioner